Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
kotter

anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please Empty
PostSubject: anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please   anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please EmptySun Nov 23, 2008 7:08 am

I am a new author. Considering using either LULU, BookMasters (to go ti a lone) or "HappyAbout". I am particularly interested in any experience people had or reference with "HappyAbout" ()

They are all seem to be 'vanity' publishers to me. Am I wrong? afro
Back to top Go down
Dick Stodghill
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Dick Stodghill

Number of posts : 3795
Registration date : 2008-05-04

PostSubject: Re: anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please   anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please EmptySun Nov 23, 2008 12:15 pm

Sorry, but I never heard of it. Lulu does a fine job.
Back to top Go down
http://www.dickstodghill.com
Dick Stodghill
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Dick Stodghill

Number of posts : 3795
Registration date : 2008-05-04

PostSubject: Re: anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please   anyone knows 'happy about'. opinions please EmptySun Nov 23, 2008 2:54 pm

I looked these up. Bookmasters is a printer, not a publisher. They will print anything you pay for.
Happyabout has published a few magazines, that's it.
Lulu is a POD self-publisher, a good one. There is no charge for their basic package other than for a proof copy of your book. You can, however, purchase an ISBN and a worldwide distribution package from them as well as a few other things if you choose.
A vanity press charges those who use it. The more you want them to do, the more you pay.