Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Bargain Books

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Jim Woods
Three Star Member
Three Star Member
Jim Woods

Number of posts : 171
Registration date : 2008-06-07

Bargain Books Empty
PostSubject: Bargain Books   Bargain Books EmptyThu Jul 31, 2008 12:45 pm

In 1975 when I was an editor for (then) Petersen Publishing Company and heading up their books division---Petersen mainly was magazines--one of our special one time soft cover books for newsstand distribution was cover priced at $4.95. In 1982 that book was purchased by Bonanza Books for hardbound release under their imprint, keeping the same title and cover art for the dust jacket. I don't know how it might have been re-priced. My only file copy is one of the original soft covers and it's showing age and deterioration.

In browsing Amazon today, I found several sources for the Bonanza hardbound version, and ordered the copy that sounded like it was the most pristine of several copies available. With shipping, the book is $21, and a bargain since I'll add it to my permanent library, and my personal history.

Jim Woods
www.ultrasw.com/jwoods
Back to top Go down
Dick Stodghill
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Dick Stodghill

Number of posts : 3795
Registration date : 2008-05-04

Bargain Books Empty
PostSubject: Re: Bargain Books   Bargain Books EmptyThu Jul 31, 2008 3:14 pm

Do you a copy of the original?
Back to top Go down
http://www.dickstodghill.com
Jim Woods
Three Star Member
Three Star Member
Jim Woods

Number of posts : 171
Registration date : 2008-06-07

Bargain Books Empty
PostSubject: Re: Bargain Books   Bargain Books EmptyThu Jul 31, 2008 4:04 pm