Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

How about a review swap

Go down 
+2
Abe F. March
melLkinder
6 posters
AuthorMessage
melLkinder
Three Star Member
Three Star Member
melLkinder

Number of posts : 77
Registration date : 2011-09-09

How about a review swap Empty
PostSubject: How about a review swap   How about a review swap EmptyMon Sep 26, 2011 11:57 am

When I was in a band, local bands would support one another by swapping shows, or exchanging links to their website. What if we were to swap book reviews? I'm a fantasy/science fiction writer but I read other genres as well. What if we agreed to review eachothers work? Just an idea.
Back to top Go down
http://www.melaniekinder.com
Abe F. March
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Abe F. March

Number of posts : 10768
Registration date : 2008-01-26

PostSubject: Re: How about a review swap   How about a review swap EmptyMon Sep 26, 2011 11:50 pm

Good idea Mel. I think many have reviewed the work of fellow authors, however it was not done as a project. Reviewing fellow-author's work has a good and bad side. When you truly enjoy the story, it is easy to write a good review. What do you write when you don't like it? No review is preferable to a bad review. If the authors asks for feedback in the form of a critique, it is best done privately.
Critique before publication is more beneficial. Once published, it's too late.

I made a comment about promoting the author and the work of the author to avoid self promotion. No one has yet responded. Any takers can pm me or send me an email. Naturally, I would want to read the author's work and like it before agreeing to promote.
Back to top Go down
melLkinder
Three Star Member
Three Star Member
melLkinder