Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Fiction As Storytelling

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
starrwriter

Number of posts : 5
Registration date : 2008-05-01

Fiction As Storytelling Empty
PostSubject: Fiction As Storytelling   Fiction As Storytelling EmptyThu May 01, 2008 8:57 am

I once experienced one of those "Eureka!" moments on the subject of fiction writing.

I was pondering how much trouble I had writing fiction when I was a young wannabe author. I knew what good fiction was when I read it, but I couldn't seem to translate that knowledge into my own writing.

I think I finally understand why: I got bogged down in so-called rules, formal outlining, trivial details of plot, characterization and description, etc. that had little if anything to do with storytelling. I didn't realize that a fiction writer is primarily a storyteller and this prevented me from creating an interesting tale.

What we call literature evolved from mythologizing in prehistoric cultures. Before written language, people gathered around a fire at night and listened to a shaman spin tales of gods, demons, heroes, villains and human fate. The stories were larger than life, which is why they fascinated. They lifted listeners out of ordinary day-to-day existence if only for a brief time. They helped to make the "short nasty" lives of prehistoric people more tolerable.

But much of modern literature has lost this myth-making quality. Many authors today write more and more about less and less, as if the essence of a story lies in trivial details. The big picture is often missing.

That's why I couldn't write decent stories when I was young. I focused on detail rather than the big picture and I suspect that a lot of new writers do the same thing.