Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

How did we learn about our government?

Go down 
+6
Betty Fasig
Pam
Dick Stodghill
JoElle
alice
Carol Troestler
10 posters
AuthorMessage
Carol Troestler
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Carol Troestler

Number of posts : 3827
Registration date : 2008-06-07

How did we learn about our government? Empty
PostSubject: How did we learn about our government?   How did we learn about our government? EmptyFri Nov 07, 2008 8:01 am

Was it in our families as Shelagh had spoken of in the diversity of hers? Was it in school, from books later in life, from visits to historic sites?

I had mentioned to Alice places one could visit to learn about our country: Mount Rushmore, Gettysburg, or Mount Vernon.

And when I wrote my historic novels, I studied our Constitution and Civil War. I thought how people could learn about our country from my novels: about immigrants and how they made their homes here, about the historic events their lives were part of. My original purpose in writing these books was for my grandchildren to learn about these events and how their family was involved.

So, how have we learned about our country, whether in the US or Canada or England? Is it through travel or just living our lives?

Carol
Back to top Go down
http://www.authorsden.com/ctroestler
alice
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
alice

Number of posts : 15672
Registration date : 2008-10-22

PostSubject: Re: How did we learn about our government?   How did we learn about our government? EmptyFri Nov 07, 2008 8:32 am

Carol,

Very good question. My answer--at home. My folks were fiscal conservatives --did noit even have a home mortgage. When they had extra cash they bought board and nails and built our house.