Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

I am a stupid writer!!!

Go down 
+16
W. Lane Rogers
alj
LC
Carol Troestler
A Ahad
thehairymob
zadaconnaway
Abe F. March
Dick Stodghill
Afinerosesheis
Rhymer
Phil Whitley
dtpollard
RunsWithScissors
dkchristi
Charlie Moore
20 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Charlie Moore
Four Star Member
Four Star Member
Charlie Moore

Number of posts : 213
Registration date : 2008-08-06

I am a stupid writer!!! Empty
PostSubject: I am a stupid writer!!!   I am a stupid writer!!! EmptyMon Apr 13, 2009 7:55 pm

It's true, evidently. You see, I'm being informed, in fact it's being bashed into my head that people write to sell. That's right, to make money. Yeah, well my books and their sales indicate that I must have missed class that semester. Anyway, I guess I write for myself. That is, I have to please myself first and then worry about the reader and the potential buyer. Now I do try to write stories with an interesting plot and strong characters and show don't tell and all those cute things that are supposed to "sell," but I guess I missed the class I'm not making many sells. Even though the sampling of reviews I've gotten from writers I admire like John Cassell and Jay Osman among others suggest that I did okay, at least to them. So hold the phone, I also missed the class where they said you have to promote the work. I hate doing that. I'm not at all comfortable with saying this is my creation and it is wonderful, a must read. But, I do like to write and I'll continue to do so, just for myself ... and whoever else may be interested. Kind of stupid, huh.

Charlie
Back to top Go down
dkchristi
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
dkchristi

Number of posts : 8594
Registration date : 2008-12-29