Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Anthology Copyrights

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Sue
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Sue

Number of posts : 1216
Registration date : 2008-01-15

Anthology Copyrights Empty
PostSubject: Anthology Copyrights   Anthology Copyrights EmptyWed Sep 24, 2008 6:56 pm

Shelagh,

Please don't take me wrong as I am very new to all of this. So my question is no reflection on you, your work, or the anthology. It is just that I don't understand all that needs to be addressed or not addressed in an anthology.

I was going through the anthology threads to see if there was anything about copyright. This is what I found:

Quote :
Shelagh said: "You can submit your work to other
magazines/agents/publishers before and after the book is published. I
won't be asking for exclusive rights. You are free to publish your work
elsewhere."

Is there something in the book or in writing (other than above) that says this? I don't mean to go all legal here but I am uncomfortable not knowing the answer to that.

Thank you.
Back to top Go down
Brenda Hill
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Brenda Hill

Number of posts : 1297
Registration date : 2008-02-16

PostSubject: Re: Anthology Copyrights   Anthology Copyrights EmptyWed Sep 24, 2008 9:51 pm

I’m not one hundred percent sure, Sue, but I’ve been thinking about it. When my short stories were published, I had to sign contracts granting exclusive rights to the publishers for a certain period, say three months to three years, except for one with a national magazine. They’ll forever own it, but that’s okay as I was well-paid. With the others, after the specified time in the contract passes, the rights revert back to me.

If you didn’t sign a contract, you should be free to publish your work elsewhere.