Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

So near yet so far . . . advice required

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Cal

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2010-11-21

So near yet so far . . . advice required Empty
PostSubject: So near yet so far . . . advice required   So near yet so far . . . advice required EmptySun Nov 21, 2010 6:47 am

I am posting this in the hope that I can receive some advice that will be of benefit to me. I assure you that every word is the absolute truth.

My story:

I have been an occasional non-fiction writer for many years, around 4 years ago I began writing fiction for children. When I finished my first story (approx. 14 000 words, suitable for age 7+) I was convinced it could achieve great commercial success; in my work as a primary school supply (a.k.a. relief) teacher I was able to read the story to numerous classes, all of whom were completely entranced by it.

I sent a copy to every publisher I could find (in the UK, where I live) who accepts unpublished manuscripts, all of whom rejected the story without comment. Some time later I sent an improved version to every agent I could find who accepts unsolicited manuscripts, all of whom rejected the story without comment.

I also wrote a second story (approx. 32 000 words, suitable for age 8+) that I consider even better and more commercially viable than my first story. I sent it to every publisher and agent I could find who accepts unsolicited manuscripts, again it was rejected by everyone, without comment. I also submitted it to the Times/Chicken House Children’s Story competition, and it failed to reach the long list. Yet I was convinced the second story was a masterpiece that could become a million seller.