Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

I guess I'm still a teacher

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
alj
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
alj

Number of posts : 9633
Registration date : 2008-12-05

I guess I'm still a teacher Empty
PostSubject: I guess I'm still a teacher   I guess I'm still a teacher EmptyTue May 17, 2011 6:40 am

Quote :

Is the conscientious teacher -- concerned for the moral character as well as for the book-learning of his students -- to be loyal first to the supporting myths of our civilization or to the "factualized" truths of his science? Are the two, on level, at odds? Or is there not some point of wisdom beyond the conflicts of illusion and truth by which lives can be put back together again? Myths to Live By Joseph Campbell

Another bit of widget wisdom that popped up on my home page this morning. I liked this one, because it asks my own life's question.
Writers are storytellers. So are teachers. The first storytellers were historians and teachers - and poets. That was their purpose, to tell the stories about where we came from and how we got to where we are. These myth makers told us about our heroes and the deeds that made them heroic, and gave us examples of how we might live our own lives. Isn't that our job as writers? To find that "point of wisdom beyond the conflicts of illusion and truth"? Are we not the myth-makers of this 21st century?

In an evolving universe, things change, and our stories need to reflect that change. It isn't that the old stories aren't valid, but that they have to be told from a new perspective, one that incorporates the new circumstances we all faced every day.

Ann
Back to top Go down
http://www.annjoiner.com
LC
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
LC

Number of posts : 5044