Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Full Circle - Past to Present

Go down 
+7
Shelagh
Abe F. March
Domenic Pappalardo
LC
Betty Fasig
joefrank
dkchristi
11 posters
AuthorMessage
dkchristi
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
dkchristi

Number of posts : 8594
Registration date : 2008-12-29

Full Circle - Past to Present Empty
PostSubject: Full Circle - Past to Present   Full Circle - Past to Present EmptyThu Dec 17, 2009 3:44 pm

My home town newspaper, Muskegon Chronicle, ignored my accomplishments that were quite a few in my youth, including top of my graduating class with a plethora of scholarship offers, an honorary internship to D.C. where I was photographed with everyone and news releases sent back home, never published. I was a new administrator with a new and catchy title at the community college - the list goes on. I had one major fault - North Muskegon (the north side of Muskegon Lake) was the "society section." If you were not from North Muskegon, you didn't make it to the Chronicle. After all, local news is to sell papers; no one cared about a girl from the outskirts of nowhere.

December 23, I have a book signing at N. Muskegon Books, on the north side of Muskegon Lake. Today the Chronicle wrote the following half page article in the arts and entertainment section, with a giant picture of Ghost Orchid's cover. My mom is thrilled beyond measure. I'm even impressed! There is some satisfaction in coming full circle on the wings of a story that is worth the attention. I hope you can share my feelings - as I'm not quite sure how to categorize them; but a young girl inside is smiling.

Ghost Orchid – mother/daughter to greet patrons at North Shore Books
By: Linda David-Rhodea