Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Carol's journal: Helping and being helped

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Carol Troestler
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Carol Troestler

Number of posts : 3827
Registration date : 2008-06-07

Carol's journal: Helping and being helped Empty
PostSubject: Carol's journal: Helping and being helped   Carol's journal: Helping and being helped EmptyMon Dec 14, 2009 8:18 am

I always wanted to be a social worker. I got an undergraduate degree in psychology, but I still didn't have the needed credentials to be a professional helper after my littlest girl began first grade and I felt I could go to work. So I went back to school at UW Madison and got a master's degree in social work.

I shed a few tears at the sad stories and cheered the victories. I understood that emotional problems could hurt as much as physical ones, and often both were tied together.

I am now a "helpee." And I think I am absolutely in love with my entire medical team. They are quite a group. My angelic Physician's Assistant listens to my many quirks and works with my busy primary physician. I have an oncologist who is very honest and serious, and sometimes I find it a challenge to make him smile. The nurse who checked my blood for thinness would ask how I was doing and often she'd be on the phone to the primary physician or I was on my way for lab work. I had to use an oncall doctor a couple of weeks ago and met the most energetic, happiest (and I think youngest) doctor I've ever known, one of those people who make you feel better just by entering the room. And I have a special nurse who seeks me out to see how I am doing.