Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Word use in English

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Abe F. March
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
Abe F. March

Number of posts : 10768
Registration date : 2008-01-26

Word use in English Empty
PostSubject: Word use in English   Word use in English EmptyFri Sep 19, 2014 8:52 am

As an English Teacher, I thought that Ann might find this useful.
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1463862033886635&fref=nf
Back to top Go down
alj
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
alj

Number of posts : 9633
Registration date : 2008-12-05

PostSubject: Re: Word use in English   Word use in English EmptyFri Sep 19, 2014 9:18 am

Reminds me of a conversation I had with my linguistics professor, back in '78, when I returned to college after my divorce. The professor had been cautioning us about the use of slang words, saying that they were lazy ways of getting around a slack vocabulary.

Being one of those students who enjoyed challenging my teachers, I suggested that there was one word that I could think of that did not seem to have a satisfactory substitute (and no, it was not the "f" word.  I didn't go there then, and while one or two of my fitional characters have used it, I do not. Nor do I particularly like hearing it).  The professor  got a twinkle in his eye - I had taken several classes from this professor already, some going back to the early 1960's - as he asked me to explain.  I said, as discreetly as I could, that the technical term for a female dog had taken on many meanings.  He took it from there, using the actual word, to show that is was not a slang expression at all, giving examples of it being used as a noun, as a verb, as a gerund, a participle, and so on.  The class loved it and we all roared with laughter.