Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Query Letter Feedback

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
matthewkeith

matthewkeith

Number of posts : 10
Registration date : 2013-05-02

Query Letter Feedback Empty
PostSubject: Query Letter Feedback   Query Letter Feedback EmptySat May 04, 2013 12:43 pm

I am a new author - new to trying to find representation, anyway - and would appreciate any feedback anyone's willing to give. Everything I have read thus far on query letters has referenced keeping it short, do not go into a lot of detail, and do not talk about yourself unless it directly pertains to your book or your personal marketability.
This is what I've used most recently:

Dear ,

For your consideration, I would like to submit my novel, Watchers of the Night, a compelling fantasy adventure.

“You don’t even know where you are, do you.” A statement, not a question.

Paul Bennett doesn’t realize that his sleep disorder is actually a gift that allows him to travel the night free of his body. That is, not until he is approached by a member of Astralis; an organization funded by the government that uses people with his talent to gather information for the greater good.

At Astralis, Paul finds inclusion and friendship on a level that he’d never before had the chance to experience and begins to believe that Astralis could provide a new life for him. It isn’t long, however, before he realizes that Astralis is an organization under siege from within. Paul finds
himself forced to either choose a side or leave Astralis forever.

Watchers is complete at 112,000 words. I have begun work on a second novel based around the same characters.

I would be pleased to send you any requested portion of the manuscript for review.

Regards,

Matthew Keith