Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Nitty Gritty Details

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
SkrapB

SkrapB

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2011-04-26

Nitty Gritty Details Empty
PostSubject: Nitty Gritty Details   Nitty Gritty Details EmptyTue Apr 26, 2011 3:15 pm

(btw I'm new here, so, uhm... Hi.)

At any rate... I've been an aspiring author for a good 5 to 6 years now. I love writing, and my imagination is constantly overflowing. Sometimes it gets so vivid that I have trouble focusing on everyday tasks, I love it so much. The only problem is, I can't seem to give my stories any kind of flow. I'll start writing on them, and 50 pages later I'll realize that the story usually goes way too fast, with little interpersonal action between characters. and by the time I go in and try to add in all the details, I slowly lose my motivation, having lost either my muse, or my forward moving rythm with that particular storyline.

I need help guys. I desperately wish to succeed in writing at least one book and publishing it. Any tips for keeping motivation, as well as advice for spotting when you're going too fast?
Back to top Go down
learningcurve
One Star Member
One Star Member
learningcurve

Number of posts : 20
Registration date : 2011-04-05

PostSubject: Re: Nitty Gritty Details   Nitty Gritty Details EmptyThu Apr 28, 2011 8:47 am

Hi and welcome, I'm pretty new myself.
I would say for you to join a good writing workshop (face to face is good) i believe in seeing the people--
on the other hand, it isn't always possible to find a good local workshop.

How about online critique groups. NO PAYMENT btw.
there are some great ones.

What genre do you write in if you write in one!
there are some great ones for horror and sci fi.