Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Contract questions

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
LynnG13

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2010-05-05

Contract questions Empty
PostSubject: Contract questions   Contract questions EmptyWed May 05, 2010 5:55 pm

Hi,

This is my first post here. Forgive me if this has been addressed before, but I could not find a Search function here...

I am a new author and I have been sent a contract (publishing agreement) from my publisher for a book I have just written. The book is highly controversial and I had planned to self-publish it until I was approached by this publisher to publish the book for me. The publisher is very supportive of my book and has shown a lot of interest in publishing and marketing the book for me at no cost to me. The publisher is also fairly new to the industry and has just recently switched from a self-publishing business to a traditional publisher. Given the nature of the book, I have chosen to use an alias instead of my real name.

I have concerns about the contract they sent me because the contract does not specify the base or retail price, or the percentage of royalties paid to me. There doesn't seem to be any detailed descriptions of what services will be provided to me to assist in marketing my book. Am I wrong to expect these things to be stipulated in the contract? The publisher says the royalties contract is a separate contact that will come after retail price and royalties are negotiated.