Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Master class, here I come

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
McManly

McManly

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2012-05-08

Master class, here I come Empty
PostSubject: Master class, here I come   Master class, here I come EmptyMon May 14, 2012 3:33 am

I'm basically a non-fiction writer, and I'm good at it, but let's face it, unless you write fiction, there are people who will sniff and say you aren't a real author.

Basically, I'm commercial, but not for the money. I know that the more books I get into people's hands (or libraries), the more I can transmit what I regard as core values to the next generation.

Hey, guess what: I'm a retired teacher, but when people asked me what I taught, my answer was always an urbane "Children!", followed by a grin that challenged them to ask for more if they dared. I was never so much a teacher as an educator.

Anyhow, having written about the reality of Australian exploration (for adults first and later for children), having written histories of rockets, poisons and natural history (for children first, and later, for adults), and being currently engaged in writing about gold in Australia, I wanted to write some YA historical fiction that used all of these areas of expertise to give young people a sense of what Australian life was in the 1850s and 1860s.

Anybody who has read any Jean Auel will know the risk, the temptation, of cramming all of the research in. I won't be doing that. Instead, I need to learn to use a light touch, so that the reality slips in, and never barges in.

Next Saturday, towards the end of the Sydney Writers' Festival, I am off to a workshop with Mal Peet, an award-winning and highly-rated YA author. I hope I will emerge a better person.