Published Authors

A place for budding and experienced authors to share ideas about publishing and marketing books

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  RegisterRegister  Log in  Featured MembersFeatured Members  ArticlesArticles  

Have you ever been pirated?

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
DavidC

Number of posts : 10
Registration date : 2010-08-16

Have you ever been pirated? Empty
PostSubject: Have you ever been pirated?   Have you ever been pirated? EmptyMon Aug 16, 2010 6:47 pm

Have you ever worked for months or years on that new book, just to have it stolen and given away? Well I did time and again, until I seized the day and took the bull by the horns. Now I am an author by day and pirate destroyer by night.

Have you ever been pirated, or even better, have you ever fired back at them?

--Pirate Destroyer
Back to top Go down
http://security.profit-smart.com
dkchristi
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
dkchristi

Number of posts : 8594
Registration date : 2008-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Have you ever been pirated?   Have you ever been pirated? EmptyMon Aug 16, 2010 6:54 pm

I think in this technological morass, piracy is inevitable. The trick is to copyright everything and formally publish with a trusted publisher. Even then, ebooks can be found for free because this is an international enterprise, here, the Internet. Other countries have been publishing music, movies and videos for years; I rented movies that were recorded from satellites when I lived on a sailboat in the Caribbean - the ones I rented were not purchased...now the same applies to written intellectual property. So long as people seek the least expensive (and that is the nature of things) - something "found" on the Internet does not feel the same as picking up a book and walking out of a store without paying. No bells go off.
Back to top Go down
http://www.dkchristi.webs.com
LC
Five Star Member
Five Star Member
LC

Number of posts : 5044
Registration date : 2009-03-28